MaxQ Data Point Forum Index MaxQ Data Point
Supporting the MaxQData User Community
 
 MaxQData Home Page | MaxQData Wiki
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

No Satellites

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaxQ Data Point Forum Index -> MQGPS RS-232 or USB
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:07 pm    Post subject: No Satellites Reply with quote

I got the MQ-GPS in the car this afternoon and after a little while it showed that it was recieving 7 satellites. I started to go for a drive when all the sudden the display showed that there was "NO DATA". It has not reconized any satellites since then. What could be causing this?

Thanks for any help,
Kevin
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kevin,

There are a few things you should check:

- Make sure that the 12V car power adapter is snugly inserted into the cigarette lighter adapter and the green light is "on". Somtimes it is loose and does not make a solid power connection.

- Make sure that the cable going into the Pocket PC is clipped in on both sides.

- Make sure there is no weight trying to pull the cable loose from the Pocket PC. Also, the cable itself can sometimes pull out of the connector that goes into the Pocket PC if there is too much weight on it. We put a tight cable tie around it now to prevent this, but it can still happen.

Since you had it working briefly, then your Setup configuration is correct and it is most likely a cable or power issue.

Ed
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
Ed
Site Admin


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is something else you can try. This procedure allows you to see the data stream coming from the GPS module without using the MaxQData software. This is a basic check to make sure everything is connected and powered correctly. It is a little complicated but useful to know.

Here are the instructions for checking the data stream coming from an MQGPS-RS232. This is written for Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition but the steps should be almost the same for other Pocket PCs.

(you only need to do steps 1-9 the first time)

1. Start > Settings > System > Connections tab > Connections icon

2. Add a new modem connection

3. Enter "MQGPS" for the name (no quotes) and select "Hayes Compatible on COM1:". Tap Next.

4. Enter "0" for the number to be dialed. Tap Next.

5. Leave "User name", "Password" and "Domain" blank. Tap Advanced.

6. Under the "General" tab: Baud rate: 38400; uncheck "Wait for dial tone before dialing"; Wait for credit card "0" sec.; Extra dial-string modem commands should be blank; uncheck "Cancel if not connected in 120 sec.".

7. Under the "Port Settings" tab: 8 data bits; Parity = None; 1 stop bit; Flow control = None; check "Use terminal before connecting"; uncheck "Use terminal after connecting"; check "Enter dialing commands manually"

8. Ignore the "TCP/IP" and "Servers" tabs. Tap OK.

9. Tap Finish

10. Manage existing connections

11. Tap and hold on "MQGPS". Tap "Connect" when the context menu comes up.

12. Make sure the MQGPS is connected and powered. Tap "Hide" on the notification bubble.

This puts you in terminal mode. You should see legible data coming in from the GPS. It should look something like this:

Code:
$GPRMC,000829.25,A,4735.82685,N,12208.40702,W,0.075,203.24,030405,,,A*73
$GPVTG,203.24,T,,M,0.075,N,0.140,K,A*3D
$GPGGA,000829.25,4735.82685,N,12208.40702,W,1,5,3.98,98.5,M,-17.3,M,,*6D
$GPGSA,A,3,01,14,15,25,19,,,,,,,,5.64,3.98,4.01*0D
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,42,213,46,11,26,306,,18,23,084,,03,19,222,*7B
$GPGSV,3,2,09,09,18,044,,14,81,144,42,15,33,141,37,25,10,170,35*78
$GPGSV,3,3,09,19,34,248,45*40
$GPGLL,4735.82685,N,12208.40702,W,000829.25,A,A*73
$GPZDA,000829.25,03,04,2005,00,00*62


To exit from the terminal mode, tap OK.

If you see this data, then the MaxQData software should be working. If it is not working, then you have a Setup configuration problem.

If you do not see this data, then there is a problem with the connection or the power to the MQGPS.
_________________
Ed Lansinger
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed
Site Admin


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is also not unusual to have problems picking up satellites when the unit has been shipped cross-country. The MQGPS assumes it is still where it used to be and tries to predict which satellites it will see. When it doesn't see them, it takes longer to figure out where it is. But if it has been watching the sky for fifteen minutes and it still hasn't locked onto anything, then there is some other problem.
_________________
Ed Lansinger
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This morning I got it to work. I think it was a power issue. Is there any way that the GPS can be wired directly to the batery with a switch to turn it on and off?
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Ed
Site Admin


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear it's working!

Yes, with some work you could wire the MQGPS directly to the car battery. The first thing to know is that the 12V plug for the MQGPS converts 12V to 5V, so you can't just cut off the plug and wire directly to +12V. You need to keep the 12V plug, or at least the guts inside it.

Radio Shack sells 12V cigarette lighter receptacles with battery post clips. You probably don't actually want to wire it directly to the battery, but instead tap it into a switched and fused +12V wire (for example, the one powering your cigarette lighter socket). So you could get one of these receptacles, cut off the battery clips, and then use wire taps or a splice to connect it to +12V and Ground on the car's wiring harness. Then you can insert the MQGPS 12V adapter into the receptacle and duct tape it into place permanently. If you are able to hide the wiring and mount the GPS in a discreet location, you've got an invisible installation.
_________________
Ed Lansinger
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still having problems with the pocket pc not recieving anything form the satellite antenna. It is not a power issue not is it the result of the lack of satellites. What are the odds there is a faulty cable? I want to get this working. What can be done to get this sorted out?

Kevin
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Ed
Site Admin


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In this case, we recommend sending us a debug log file so we can check to make sure that the raw GPS data is actually being received by the Pocket PC. I will send private email to describe what to do. If no data is being received, or if it's intermittent, then it's probably the cable.
_________________
Ed Lansinger
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will send the debug log file as soon as I can.
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After many hours of testing this weekend, I have came to the conclusion that it is the adaptor cable that is causing my "No Data" problem. It seems that if it isnt held at a particular angle while connected to the pocket pc that it does not show any data. I would like to get this fixed soon because I have a race in a few weeks and I intended on using it there.

Thanks for the help,
Kevin
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Ed
Site Admin


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Kevin,

We've ordered a replacement cable. It's being expedited from Hong Kong and we'll turn it around to you as soon as we receive it.
_________________
Ed Lansinger
MaxQData, LLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
turboPWR



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed,

Thank you very much. Looking foreward to getting it.

Kevin
_________________
Kevin Boehm

UNC Charlotte - Mechanical Engineering
PCA F Prepared '86 944 turbo

"Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world."
Joel Barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaxQ Data Point Forum Index -> MQGPS RS-232 or USB All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Contents © Copyright 2006 MaxQData, LLC
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 113964 / 3512